NOW That’s What I Call 12″ 70s

Welcome to this NOW That’s What I Call 12″ 70s review. everybody loves the extended versions of their favourite songs but some can go on too long for me.

Here is the product description from amazon.

NOW Music are excited to present NOW That’s What I Call 12” 70s – a 4CD collection of 42 12” and extended versions of some of the most defining and enduring tracks from some of the most memorable artists of the era.

CD1 kicks off with a host of superstars: Elton John and the original 1979 12” version of ‘Are You Ready For Love’ – followed by the long version of ‘Goodnight Tonight’ from Wings – and the 7 minute version of the #1 ‘We Don’t Talk Anymore’ from Cliff Richard. Blondie’s #1 ‘Heart Of Glass’ is up next in its’ extended version, along with synth driven smashes from Roxy Music, Japan, M, and The Flying Lizards. Closing Disc 1 with some classic New Wave 12” versions from Lene Lovich, Public Image Limited, the #1 ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’ from Ian Dury & The Blockheads – and the stunning full length version of ‘Rock Lobster’ from The B-52’s.


Electronic Disco opens Disc 2, with the superb long version of ‘Beat The Clock’ from Sparks, Cerrone’s ground-breaking ‘Supernature’ and dance-floor smash ‘From East To West’ by Voyage. The iconic ‘Spacer’ from Sheila & B Devotion appears here in it’s Tom Moulton mix and is joined by extended pop gems from Boney M., Eruption, Leif Garrett and The Three Degrees. Closing this disc – two space-age disco-pop classics: Dee D. Jackson’s ‘Automatic Lover’ and some ‘Galactic Funk’ from Meco with ‘Star Wars Theme/Cantina Band’ – available here in its 7.35 12” version, originally released as a DJ-only promo.

Discs 3 and 4 celebrate the rich legacy of 1970’s disco. Massive hits from Earth, Wind & Fire With The Emotions, McFadden & Whitehead and Heatwave feature alongside the extended version of Yvonne Elliman’s ‘Saturday Night Fever’ classic ‘If I Can’t Have You’ – and Odyssey’s sublime ‘Native New Yorker’. Huge club tracks from Dan Hartman and Grace Jones lead into the captivating ‘Like An Eagle’ from Dennis Parker, and Cher literally takes Disc 3 home with her 1979 12” smash.

At over 17 minutes, the 12” version of Donna Summer’s ‘Macarthur Park Suite’ is still stunning and is followed by floor-filling gold from The Trammps with the full version of ‘Disco Inferno’, the sophistication of Chic, Amii Stewart’s ‘Light My Fire / 137 Disco Heaven’, plus Frantique and Vicki Sue Robinson. The collection closes with three of the greatest anthems to evolve from the collision of amazing Soul vocals and a Disco dance-floor: Diana Ross with the 12” Version of ‘Love Hangover’, Gloria Gaynor’s timeless ‘I Will Survive’, and signing off with ‘Don’t Leave Me This Way’ with the legendary vocals of Thelma Houston.

Essential Versions from an incredible era: Now That’s What I Call 12” 70s.


NOW That's What I Call 12 70s

Track Listings

Disc: 1

1 Are You Ready for Love (Extended Version) – Elton John
2 Goodnight Tonight (Long Version) – Wings
3 We Don’t Talk Anymore (12″ Version) – Cliff Richard
4 Heart of Glass (12″ Version) – Blondie
5 Angel Eyes (Extended Version) – Roxy Music
6 Life in Tokyo (12″ Extended Version) – Japan
7 Pop Muzik (Nik Launey ’79 12″) – M
8 Money (12″ Version) – The Flying Lizards
9 Lucky Number (Slavic Dance Version) – Lene Lovich
10 Death Disco (12″ Remix) – Public Image Limited
11 Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick (12″ Version) – Ian Dury and The Blockheads
12 Rock Lobster – The B-52’s

Disc: 2

1 Beat the Clock (Long Version) – Sparks
2 Supernature (Extended) – Cerrone
3 From East to West (Extended Version) – Voyage
4 Spacer (A Tom Moulton Mix) – Sheila & B. Devotion
5 The Runner (Long Version) – The Three Degrees
6 I Was Made for Dancin’ (12″ Version) – Leif Garrett
7 Rivers of Babylon (12″ Version) – Boney M.
8 I Can’t Stand the Rain (Extended Version) – Eruption
9 Automatic Lover (Extended Version) – Dee D. Jackson
10 Star Wars Theme/Cantina Band (DJ Promo-only Version) – Meco

Disc: 3

1 Boogie Wonderland (12″ Version) – Earth, Wind & Fire with The Emotions
2 Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now (12″ Version) – McFadden and Whitehead
3 Boogie Nights (Special Disco Version) – Heatwave
4 Native New Yorker (12″ Disco Mix) – Odyssey
5 If I Can’t Have You (Extended Version) – Yvonne Elliman
6 Boogie Oogie Oogie (Album Version) – A Taste of Honey
7 Relight My Fire (12″ Disco Remix) – Dan Hartman
8 I Need a Man (12″ Version) – Grace Jones
9 Like an Eagle (12″ Version) – Dennis Parker
10 More, More, More (12″ Version) – Andrea True Connection
11 Take Me Home (12″ Version) – Cher

Disc: 4

1 Macarthur Park Suite: Macarthur Park/One of a Kind/Heaven Knows/Macarthur Park Reprise (DJ Promo 12″ Version) – Donna Summer
2 Disco Inferno (Extended Version) – The Trammps
3 Everybody Dance (12″ Mix) – Chic
4 Light My Fire/137 Disco Heaven (Long Version) – Amii Stewart
5 Strut Your Funky Stuff (12″ Version) – Frantique
6 Turn the Beat Around (Extended Version) – Vicki Sue Robinson
7 Love Hangover (12″ Version) – Diana Ross
8 I Will Survive (Original 12″ Version) – Gloria Gaynor
9 Don’t Leave Me This Way (12″ Version) – Thelma Houston


If you think you would like to own a copy of NOW That’s What I Call 12″ 70s click here.

Thanks for visiting today and I hope you found what you were looking for.